Keeping Your Relationship Healthy After a Spinal Cord Injury | Hollister CA

Hollister Corporate Statement – COVID-19 & Supply Chain Update Read more

Keeping Your Relationship Healthy After a Spinal Cord Injury

If you’re in an existing partner relationship at the time of your injury, its vital to work together as you both cope with new realities. Here are a few things to keep in mind.

Keeping your Relationship Healthy after a Spinal Cord Injury

Learn about healthy relationships after your spinal cord injury.

A spinal cord injury is a traumatic event that not only greatly impacts the injured, but also has a dramatic effect on a spouse or significant other.

If you’re in an existing spousal or any type of serious relationship at the time of your injury, it’s natural to be concerned about sex, financing, parenting, dependency, and future plans. For the injured, an additional layer of stress may come from self-image issues, fears of abandonment, and feeling guilty about their perceived burden on their partner.

Every couple that deals with a spinal cord injury has a different experience and journey. The good news is that, as long you both are committed in the long term, your relationship can survive, and may even evolve to grow stronger by overcoming adversity together.

As you both cope with the new realities and issues after the spinal cord injury, there are a few important things to keep in mind.

Work closely with your occupational therapist as a couple. Your occupational therapist can help you with more than just the daily practical needs of those with spinal cord injury. They can help both of you understand the physical, cognitive, and psychological impact of your injury, and in doing so help address other potential relationship issues.

Explore your sexual function as a couple. Having a spinal cord injury doesn’t mean the end of your sex life as a couple. It’s possible to have a healthy and enjoyable sex life. All it takes is understanding how sexual function may have changed post-injury, making adjustments, and attending to a few practical matters. Then you can begin to explore new sensations and greater opportunities for sexual enjoyment. Your healthcare team, including your occupational therapists, can help in these areas.

Start and continue with open, honest communication. It’s important for both of you to be honest about your fears and concerns, as well as truthful about your hopes, wishes, and dreams. It’s also crucial to have honest talks regularly, and as new issues surface. For the long-term health of the relationship, it’s vital that both of you give communication a high priority.

Aim for long-term success. There’s evidence to suggest that couples that can survive initial short-term challenges and stresses may have success further into the future. In a review that looked at the effects of spinal cord injury on marriages, the results showed that divorce rates were higher in the first three years post-injury. However, after five years, the rate of divorce averaged out to be the same as the general population.

There’s no doubt that a spinal cord injury can have a big effect on existing relationships, but there’s some proactive steps you both can take to navigate through it all. Leveraging your occupational therapist and your health care professional team is a good initial first start, which can help lay the groundwork for the other action steps mentioned above, and a healthy long-term relationship.

Communiqué de Hollister Mise à jour au sujet de la chaîne d'approvisionnement et de la COVID-19 Pour en savoir plus

Garder votre relation saine après une lésion de la moelle épinière

Si vous aviez déjà une relation de couple au moment de votre lésion, il est vital de travailler ensemble alors que vous faites tous les deux face à de nouvelles réalités. Voici quelques éléments à garder à l’esprit.

Keeping your Relationship Healthy after a Spinal Cord Injury

Découvrez comment garder une relation saine après une lésion de la moelle épinière.

Une lésion de la moelle épinière est un événement traumatisant qui a non seulement un impact important sur la personne blessée, mais elle a aussi un effet dramatique sur son conjoint.

Si vous aviez un conjoint ou une relation sérieuse au moment de votre lésion, il est naturel d’être préoccupé par la sexualité, les finances, l’éducation des enfants, la dépendance et les plans d’avenir. Pour la personne blessée, un stress supplémentaire peut provenir de problèmes d’image de soi, de craintes d’abandon et de culpabilité au sujet du fardeau qu’elle met sur son partenaire.

Chaque couple dont un membre est atteint d’une lésion de la moelle épinière a une expérience et un parcours différents. La bonne nouvelle est que, tant que vous êtes tous les deux engagés à long terme, votre relation peut y survivre, et elle peut même évoluer pour devenir plus forte en surmontant l’adversité ensemble.

Alors que vous faites face à votre nouvelle réalité et aux problèmes liés à la lésion de la moelle épinière, il y a quelques éléments importants à garder à l’esprit.

Travaillez en étroite collaboration avec votre ergothérapeute en tant que couple. Votre ergothérapeute peut vous aider au-delà des besoins pratiques quotidiens de la personne atteinte d’une lésion de la moelle épinière. Il peut vous aider tous les deux à comprendre l’impact physique, cognitif et psychologique de votre lésion, et ce faisant, vous aider à régler d’autres problèmes potentiels liés à la relation.

Explorez votre fonction sexuelle en tant que couple. Une lésion de la moelle épinière ne signifie pas que la vie sexuelle de votre couple est terminée. Il est possible d’avoir une vie sexuelle saine et agréable. Tout ce qu’il faut, c’est comprendre comment la fonction sexuelle peut avoir changé après une lésion, faire des ajustements, et s’occuper de quelques points pratiques. Ensuite, vous pouvez commencer à explorer de nouvelles sensations et d’autres occasions favorables au plaisir sexuel. Votre équipe de soins de santé, y compris vos ergothérapeutes, peut vous aider dans ces domaines.

Commencez par avoir une communication ouverte et honnête et à vous appuyer dessus. Il est important pour vous deux d’être honnêtes au sujet de vos peurs et de vos préoccupations, et d’être sincères quant à vos espoirs, souhaits et rêves. Il est aussi crucial d’avoir des discussions honnêtes régulièrement, et à chaque nouveau problème qui se produit. Pour la santé à long terme de votre relation, il est vital que vous mettiez tous les deux la priorité sur la communication.

Visez le succès à long terme. Des preuves suggèrent que les couples qui parviennent à survivre aux premiers défis et au stress à court terme ont plus de chances de réussir à long terme. Dans une étude qui a examiné les effets des lésions de la moelle épinière sur les mariages, les résultats ont montré que les taux de divorce étaient plus élevés au cours des trois premières années suivant la lésion. Toutefois, après cinq ans, le taux de divorce était en moyenne le même que celui de l’ensemble de la population.

Il ne fait aucun doute qu’une lésion de la moelle épinière peut avoir un grand effet sur les relations existantes, mais vous pouvez tous les deux prendre quelques mesures proactives pour passer à travers cette épreuve. Le fait de collaborer avec votre ergothérapeute et avec votre équipe professionnelle de soins de santé est un bon départ, et cela peut vous aider à établir les bases des autres mesures mentionnées ci-dessus, ainsi que les bases d’une saine relation à long terme.