7 Signs That You May Have a Urinary Tract Infection | Hollister CA

Hollister Corporate Statement – COVID-19 & Supply Chain Update Read more

7 Signs That You May Have a Urinary Tract Infection

When you have a spinal cord injury, it’s vital to keep an eye out for urinary tract infections. Learn the most common symptoms to watch for.

7 Signs That You May Have a Urinary Tract Infection

Learn the symptoms of urinary tract infections.

If your bladder is impacted by your spinal cord injury (i.e., you have a neurogenic bladder), you may have occasional or frequent urinary tract infections (UTIs). These occur when there is an increased amount of bacteria (or other microorganisms) in the tissues of the bladder, urethra, or kidneys. This can happen if you use mechanical aids to empty your bladder, such as a catheter. Bacteria can enter the bladder and, if not flushed out, can cause a UTI.

7 UTI symptoms

If you have a urinary tract infection, you may experience:

  1. More frequent urination or the need to catheterize more than normal
  2. Leakage of urine between normal voiding or catheterization
  3. Increased muscle spasms
  4. Fever
  5. Back pain
  6. Milky, cloudy, or darkly colored urine
  7. Foul smelling urine

If you have a UTI

It is important to contact your healthcare provider at the first sign of a urinary tract infection. Not everyone develops all of these symptoms. Your urine will be tested and medications will be prescribed if an infection is present.

Be sure to take all the antibiotic prescribed, and to contact your healthcare team again if your symptoms return. If you experience frequent urinary tract infections, additional tests or treatments might be recommended.

Communiqué de Hollister Mise à jour au sujet de la chaîne d'approvisionnement et de la COVID-19 Pour en savoir plus

7 signes qui pourraient révéler une infection des voies urinaires

Il est essentiel d’être attentif aux infections des voies urinaires. Surveillez les symptômes les plus courants.

7 Signs That You May Have a Urinary Tract Infection

Surveillez les symptômes des infections des voies urinaires.

Les infections des voies urinaires (IVU) surviennent lorsqu’il y a une quantité accrue de bactéries (ou d’autres micro-organismes) dans les tissus de la vessie, de l’urètre ou des reins. Cela peut se produire si vous utilisez des aides mécaniques, tel qu’un cathéter intermittent, pour vider votre vessie. Les bactéries peuvent pénétrer dans la vessie et, si elles ne sont pas évacuées, peuvent provoquer une IVU.

7 symptômes d’IVU

Si vous avez une infection des voies urinaires, vous pourriez présenter ce qui suit :

  1. Mictions plus fréquentes ou nécessité de vous cathétériser plus souvent
  2. Fuite d’urine entre deux mictions normales ou deux cathétérismes
  3. Augmentation des spasmes musculaires
  4. Fièvre
  5. Douleur au dos
  6. Urine laiteuse, trouble ou de couleur foncée
  7. Urine nauséabonde

Si vous avez une IVU

Il est important de communiquer avec votre professionnel de la santé dès les premiers signes d’une infection des voies urinaires. Tout le monde ne présente pas tous ces symptômes. Votre urine sera analysée et des médicaments seront prescrits au besoin.

Assurez-vous de prendre tous les antibiotiques prescrits et de communiquer de nouveau avec votre médecin si vos symptômes réapparaissent. Si vous avez fréquemment des infections des voies urinaires, des tests ou des traitements supplémentaires peuvent être recommandés.