Hollister Corporate Statement – COVID-19 & Supply Chain Update Read more

A Framework for Selecting the Right Convex Skin Barrier

Learn about how an international panel of experts is making it easier to evaluate and choose convex ostomy skin barriers.

Convex ostomy skin barriers have been available for decades and clinicians rely on them to improve patient outcomes.1 Convex products have continued to evolve but, unfortunately, the evidence to support using them is still lacking. Consequently, clinicians need to rely on their own experience to select the right convex skin barriers for their patients.

Prior research has attempted to identify the fundamental characteristics of convex skin barriers. Existing definitions, however, do not provide sufficient detail or quantifiable measures that clinicians can use to compare product features – either between manufacturers, or within a manufacturer’s product line.

Hollister recently sponsored an international panel of stoma care experts to help fill this knowledge gap. The panel reached consensus on the fundamental characteristics of convex skin barriers, which will provide both generalist and specialist clinicians with a framework to help them select the right products. In addition, the framework will provide a basis for researchers to design clinical trials that evaluate the various features of convex skin barriers, and ensure that people with ostomies achieve the right fit and maintain healthy peristomal skin.


1. Colwell J. Chapter 10. Selection of pouching system. In: Wound, Ostomy and Continence Nurses Society Core Curriculum. Ostomy Management. Philadelphia, PA: Wolters Kluwer; 2016.

See the research results

 

Stay informed — be the first to know when new clinical education is available.

By providing Hollister with the requested information below, you consent for the processing of your personal* information and professional** information for the purpose of receiving information about Hollister products, promotions, and other direct marketing campaigns.


Consent

We know that protecting your personal information is important, and want to make sure you have control over how we use the data you have provided. Please let us know what level of service you would like to receive from us (check all that apply):

For the purpose of receiving a personalized experience from Hollister, which may include being contacted by a local Hollister representative based on my recent access and navigation on the website, I consent to the processing of my personal* and professional** information.

For the purpose of having the possibility to participate in Hollister feedback programs — such as surveys, or product or service evaluations — I consent to the processing of my personal* and professional** information.

*Personal information: name, phone, email address
**Professional information: work email address, work phone, facility name, facility postal code


Your consent is optional and you have the right to withdraw it at any time. Such withdrawal only has future effect. To withdraw your consent or to make changes to your communication preferences click here.

Please find further details regarding the processing of your personal data and your legal rights in our full Privacy Notice.

Communiqué de Hollister Mise à jour au sujet de la chaîne d'approvisionnement et de la COVID-19 Pour en savoir plus

Guide pour la sélection d’un champ protecteur convexe approprié

Découvrez comment un groupe d’experts des quatre coins du monde travaillent à faciliter l’évaluation et la sélection des champs protecteurs convexes pour stomie.

Les champs protecteurs convexes pour stomie sont offerts depuis des décennies et sont recommandés par les cliniciens et cliniciennes pour améliorer l’ajustement de l’appareillage pour les patients.1 Les produits convexes ont évolué depuis leur apparition, mais les données probantes quant à leur utilisation demeurent malheureusement insuffisantes. Ainsi, les cliniciens et cliniciennes doivent s’appuyer sur leur propre expérience pour choisir les champs protecteurs convexes qui conviennent le mieux à leurs patients.

Des recherches antérieures ont tenté de relever les caractéristiques fondamentales de ce type de champ protecteur. Cependant, les définitions existantes ne fournissaient pas suffisamment de précisions ou de mesures quantifiables pour permettre de comparer les produits disponibles sur le marché.

Pour aider à combler ce manque de connaissances, Hollister a récemment commandité un groupe d’experts en soins de stomie issus des quatre coins du monde. Ces experts se sont entendus sur les caractéristiques fondamentales des champs protecteurs convexes, lesquelles serviront de guide pour la sélection de produits appropriés. De plus, les chercheurs se serviront de ce guide pour mener des essais cliniques visant à analyser les différentes caractéristiques des champs protecteurs convexes et à permettre aux personnes stomisées de trouver le produit qui leur convient, en plus de préserver une peau péristomiale saine.


1. Colwell J. Chapter 10. Selection of pouching system. In: Wound, Ostomy and Continence Nurses Society Core Curriculum. Ostomy Management. Philadelphia, PA: Wolters Kluwer; 2016.

Consulter les résultats de recherche (en anglais seulement)

 

Soyez informé(e) en premier de l'ajout de contenu clinique et éucatif.

En complètant les renseignements demandés ci-dessous, vous consentez au traitement de vos renseignements personnels* et professionnels* dans le but de recevoir les mises à jour, les promotions et d’autres campagnes de mise en marché de Hollister.


Consentement

Nous savons qu’il est important de protéger vos renseignements personnels et nous voulons nous assurer que vous avez le contrôle sur la façon dont nous utilisons les données que vous avez fournies. Merci de nous laisser savoir quel niveau de service vous souhaitez recevoir de nous (vérifiez tout ce qui s’appliquent):

Afin de recevoir une expérience personnalisée, qui peut inclure le fait d’être contacté par un représentant de Hollister en fonction de mon accès récent et de ma visite sur le site internet, je consents au traitement de mes renseignements personnels* et professionnels**.

Dans le but d’avoir la possibilité de participer à des programmes de rétroaction Hollister - comme des sondages ou des évaluations de produits ou de services, je consents au traitement de mes renseignements personnels* et professionnels**.

*Renseignements personnels : nom, téléphone, adresse courriel
** Informations professionnelles : adresse courriel du travail, téléphone au travail, nom de l’établissement, code postal de l’établissement


Votre consentement est facultatif et vous avez le droit de le retirer à tout moment. Un tel retrait n’a qu’un effet futur. Pour retirer votre consentement et pour apporter des modifications à vos préférences de communication, cliquez ici.

Veuillez trouver plus de détails au sujet du traitement de vos données personnelles et de vos droits légaux dans notre avis de confidentialité complet.